Playing Girls – Painting with watercolors capturing the moment

The idea of this painting is to capture the movement’s of three playing girls (Sisters). To complete this picture I used mainly dry brushstrokes of watercolor pigments, leaving several white spots in the paper, so the movements don’t get lost in the composition.

See below a video clip of the different steps I used to complete the painting.

Video clip of how I completed the painting

Below is a picture of the completed painting:

Playing girls- watercolor on paper 2020

One of the benefits of using mostly dry brushstrokes of watercolor is that I can control how much white space I left in the composition; without the need to use/cover the white surface with masking fluid, which is commonly used to protect white space in the composition.

Leave a comment